Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7

Addison Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ad2
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1890-1899, from Walter E. Addison, lawyer of Big Stone Gap, Wise County, Va. to his father E.B. Addison of Richmond, Va. concerning his financial problems. Also, includes bank statement, 1892; and letter, 1899, of John S. [Fleming ?] to E.B. Addison.

Dates: 1890-1899
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas Croxton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C89
Scope and Contents

The collection contains letters, receipts, invoices, and account books of Thomas Croxton concerning his law practice at Tappahannock, Va. Includes accounts with J.M. Parr & Son, commission merchants of Baltimore, Md. who received grain from Croxton by ship and sold it on consignment.

Dates: 1858-1899
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Dromgoole Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D83
Scope and Contents Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as...
Dates: 1821-1896; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James Lewis Anderson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 An1
Scope and Contents

Legal and business papers of James Lewis Anderson, lawyer of Richmond, Va. Includes certificate, 1919, signed by Westmoreland Davis relieving him of his duties on the Legal Advisory Board because of the end of World War I; his appointment, 1908, signed by Claude A. Swanson appointing him as a delegate to the American Prison Association; and accounts, 9 September 1916-22 January 1917, of the Hermitage Country Club.

Dates: 1899-1919
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Dandridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D19
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1767-1825; of John Dandridge and John Hopkins. Include letters of Dandridge to Hopkins concerning his law practice; courtship; financial matters; a trip to the Sweet Springs (Monroe County, Va.) for his health; and "Providence Forge," New Kent County, Va. Includes papers (legal documents and accounts) concerning John Dandridge, Bartholomew Dandridge, John Armistead, William Armistead and John Hopkins.

Dates: 1767-1825
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

R. H. Logan Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L83
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1895-1899, of R. H. Logan, an attorney, in Salem, Va. Includes correspondence concerning his law practice.

Dates: 1895-1899
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Merritt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M55
Scope and Contents Papers (including business and personal correspondence and accounts) of William H.E. Merritt, of Brunswick and Greensville counties, Va. who was a lawyer, member of the Virginia House of Delegates and editor of the "Richmond Whig"and his brothers Dr. Alexander T.B. Merritt of Hicksford, Greensville County,Va. and John F.W. Merritt of Vicksburg, Miss. The collection includes letters, 8 January and 29 March 1857, written by John Minor Botts and accounts of William H.E. Merritt &...
Dates: 1780-1909
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: Practice of law--Virginia--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 6
Financial records 6
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 5
Practice of law--Virginia--History 5
Legal documents 4
∨ more
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Account books 2
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Invoices 2
Lawyers--Virginia--Brunswick County 2
Lawyers--Virginia--History 2
Virginia--Cotton Farms--19th century 2
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Courtship--Virginia 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Grain trade--United States--History 1
Greensville County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Horses--United States--History--19th century 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Big Stone Gap 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Essex County 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Greensville County 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Richmond 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Salem 1
Merchants--Maryland--Baltimore 1
Merchants--Virginia--Brunswick County 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Mineral waters--Virginia 1
New Kent County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
New Kent County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Postcards 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Slavery--Mississippi--History 1
Slavery--Southern States--History 1
Speeches 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--Slavery 1
Vicksburg (Miss.)--History 1
Wise County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Armistead, John 1
Armistead, William 1
Dandridge, Bartholomew 1
Dandridge, John, 1762-1799 1
Dromgoole family 1
∨ more
Dromgoole, Edward Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, Edward, Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, fl., 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, George Coke, 1797-1847 1
Dromgoole, W. E 1
Dromgoole, W. E. 1
Hopkins, John, 1757-1827 1
Merritt, William H. E. 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Whig Party (U.S.) 1
+ ∧ less